Settling in

I’m about five weeks into the school year, so for about five weeks now, whenever I have a really good day in class I tell myself, “Jeepers, I’m pretty remarkable. I guess I’ve hit my stride as a math teacher now and am going to keep being remarkable from here on out.”

Then, the next time I have a doldrum-y day, I worry and fuss over what went wrong, what I need to do differently. And at some point I reassure myself that “I’m still settling into the role, the new students, the odd classroom situation, etc. But I’ve got really good stuff coming up, so don’t worry — I’m gonna hit my stride and start bringing the house down with my general excellence.”

I’ve been devotedly trying out ideas I get from esteemed math teacher-bloggers, but there’s a limit to how effectively I can implement methods born of experience when I have very little. I still want to try them. I just flounder a bit as I do.

Leave a Reply

